Home > Research Administration > Departmental Research Committee

Departmental Research Committee

The Departmental Research Committee (DRC) oversees research-related administration in the Department of Human Biology with all of its divisions. Responsibilities of the DRC include the following:

  • Review and authorisation of research proposals for grants and postgraduate student projects
  • Preparation of the annual departmental research report
  • Recording of research output

The DRC chair represents the Department of Human Biology on the Faculty Research Committee.

Getting Advice from the DRC

  • Please review information on the pages of this research administration section of the HUB web site.
  • Should the required information not be available, please contact the DRC representative of your division (see below).

Composition of the DRC

The Departmental Research Committee is constituted of representatives of each division in the department, and the Head of Department and the Directors of the core research facilities as ex officio member.

Name Portfolio Email Extension
A/Prof Sudesh Sivarasu DRC Chair and Division of Biomedical Engineering 404 7613
Dr Dorit Hockman Division of Cell Biology 406 6461
Dr Adhil Bhagwandin Division of Clinical Anatomy and Biological Anthropology 406 6284
Dr Yumna Albertus Division of Exercise Science and Sports Medicine 650 4560
Prof Marjanne Senekal Division of Human Nutrition 406 6784
Dr Vinogran Naidoo Division of Physiological Sciences 406 6243
Prof Malcolm Collins (ex officio) Head of Department    
Prof Mike Lambert (ex officio) Advisor to the Chair    
Prof Alison September (ex officio) Transformation    
Prof Ernesta Meintjes (ex officio) Cape Universities Body Imaging Centre at UCT    
A/Prof Dirk Lang (ex officio) Confocal and Light Microscope Imaging Facility    
Prof Vicki Lambert (ex officio) Health through Physical Activity, Lifestyle and Sport Research Centre    
Prof Tania Douglas (ex officio) Medical Imaging Research Unit